FETC announces 2017 Advisory Board


The Future of Education Technology Conference, which brought together thousands of tech directors, administrators, startups and government officials in January to talk about going digital in the classroom, announced a new 2017 advisory board on Tuesday.

Top leaders across industry and academia have been named to the prestigious board, from organizations including Discovery Education, Google, Scholastic and Vanderbilt University.

“The Advisory Board serves an important role in guiding our world-class educational technology conference,” said Jennifer Womble, FETC’s new conference program chair. “We believe it is critical that our partners provide advice, focused input and inspire change through a collaborative and informed dialogue on rapidly evolving educational technology issues impacting our attendees.

“The Advisory Board extends the influence of FETC by providing insight into trends and making recommendations on highly effective professional learning strategies, as well as offering guidance into overall program and conference development,” she added.

The FETC Advisory Board members include:

  • Christine Fox, State Educational Technology Directors Association
  • Tracy Hansen, Renaissance Learning
  • Dr. Ted Hasselbring, Vanderbilt University
  • Rushton Hurley, Next Vista for Learning
  • Devin Knighton, Canvas
  • Keith Krueger, The Consortium for School Networking
  • Wendy LaDuke, eSchool News and Women In Technology
  • Tricia Larson, Pearson
  • Tia Lendo, Google for Education
  • Gail Lovely, Trainer, Author and FETC Early Learning Summit Facilitator
  • Sylvia Martinez, Invent To Learn
  • Michael B. Meechin, Poinciana High School
  • Tom Murray, Future Ready Schools and FETC Executive Summit Committee
  • Coni Rechner, Discovery Education and Discovery Education Network (DEN)
  • Mary Schillinger, Las Virgenes Unified School District
  • Eric Sheninger, International Center for Leadership in Education (ICLE) and FETC Executive Summit Committee
  • Mark Smith, Michigan Association for Computer Users in Learning (MACUL) and FETC STEM Excellence Awards Committee
  • Kyle Christian Steele, SourceCodeB46
  • Cali Stringer, Florida Department of Education
  • Kari Stubbs, BrainPOP
  • Evan St. Lifer, Scholastic Library Publishing
  • David Tchozewski, Jenison Public Schools
  • Shelly Sanchez Terrell, Teacher Trainer, Elearning Specialist and Author
  • Bruce Umpstead, ScaleUp Education Partners
  • Vincent Varrassi, Learning Disabilities Specialist
  • Liz White, CDW
  • Brent Williams, Kennesaw State University iTeach Center
  • John Winkler, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

“After a successful Future of Education Technology Conference 2016, our goal is to build upon that success,” said Rebecca McKenna, VP of Global Events and Publisher at LRP. “That’s why we hand-picked these expert leaders in the education technology industry to advise on expanding educational and technology offerings at the 2017 event.”

Nearly 10,000 professionals from all 50 states and 49 countries attended the 36th annual FETC in Orlando, Fla., according to conference officials. There were more than 500 sessions and workshops that featured key edtech trends like STEM, game-based learning, 3D printing, makerspaces, and mobile, blended and online learning.

Girls Who Code founder Reshma Saujani spoke about her passion for getting more female students involved in science and coding fields, and former NFL player and astronaut Leland Melvin and Sean McComb, the national teacher of the year, gave keynote speeches as well. There were tips galore for technology specialists and directors about how to secure grants, and acting director of the Office of Educational Technology spoke about the Education Department’s Future Ready initiative.

The conference is currently accepting proposals to present at next year’s conference. Leaders interested in presenting must submit proposals at www.fetc.org/speak.html by April 30.

Reach the reporter at corinne.lestch@edscoop.com and follow her on Twitter @clestch and @edscoop_news.